Interview #2 – Isai Talamantes (Youth Pastor at Vida Abundante)

30 Nov

What is your typical day like?

Isai: Waking up, read 2-3 chapters of the Bible, eat breakfast, and go to school

How did you get into this position?

I felt like it was God’s calling for me. Since my parents are senior pastors, I mentioned this to them. We continued to pray about it for a while and then it was decided that I become the youth pastor

What would you tell people who want to get into this same position?

Know your calling and make sure this is truly what you want to do. Be in love with it, because it is what you are going to be doing day in and day out. Be 100% sure this is God’s call for your life, and that you truly love what you will be doing.

What is one of the hardest things you have had to experience?

Realizing that I can’t please everyone. Everyone wants things a certain way, but I can’t always go with what other people say. Some people are going to be disappointed and this sucks, because it is hard to not please people. But, if you try to please everyone, it will lead you into trouble. Things will not turn out good. Ultimately, I have to go with what I think is best, and if people don’t like it, then oh well.

What is the most rewarding thing you have experienced since becoming a youth pastor?

Seeing young people saved and transformed. That is definitely the greatest reward. Seeing people come to church, give their lives to Christ, and then become discipled and start leading otheres to Christ. It is great to see people who I knew before they were saved, inviting their friends to church and telling others about God.

What is something you didn’t expect to have happen when you became a youth pastor?

I wasn’t expecting how hard it was going to be. I just assumed that everything was going to be great. Being a youth pastor seemed to be “glorious.” However, once I started doing it, I realized how truly hard it is. I have to deal and do so many things that I was not expecting to do.

Leave a Reply

