Interview #1 – Jeremy Chambers (Supervisor)

30 Nov

What is a typical day like for you?

Jeremy: I cannot describe my typical day. My schedule varies. I do spend a large chunch of time studying for my teachings, and also since I am in school. I would say I spend about 20% of my week doing admin/organizing things. I typically dedicate one day a week to ministry outside the church, such as going to Bellevue College, meeting with divisional pastors, being in the Renton school district, etc. I also make sure to spend time with my family.

How did you get in the position you are in today?

Jeremy: My church combined with Bellevue Foursquare in 2011, which led me to become the Discipleship pastor. As far as becoming a senior pastor, I started as a youth pastor, and then planted a church with another guy (I was not the senior pastor). Then, I became a senior pastor as a result of the relationships I had. The obvious answer of how I got in ministry and in my position is because of my calling. I think it is important to know your call, and also have a pursuit of that calling. I also think it is necessary to not give up on ministry, regardless of the role you are in.

What would you recommend for people who want to be in your position?

Jeremy: Make sure to get your priorities straight. Don’t pursue a position. Pursue what you believe God is speaking to you. Also, I believe that risk-taking is the key. Many times, people can make up excuses and say, “I don’t know how to be a youth pastor, etc.” But Moses didn’t know how to speak, yet still God used him. You must be a risk-taker. And of course prayer, being in the Word, and things like those are also extremely important.

What is the hardest thing you have had to experience?

Jeremy: My own self doubt. Asking the questions: Am I doing the right thing? Do I belong here? Why aren’t I seeing results? However, I know these are all lies from the enemy, but I would definitely say that, for me personally, that is the hardest thing I have had to overcome. Another thing that is always hard for me to experience is conducting funerals. Situations like these are emotionally challenging, but the first time is definitely the hardest.

What is the most rewarding thing that you have experienced?

Jeremy: I think my answer to this question would change overtime. Currently, it is seeing John Franco (youth member) be so excited about going to Northwest University. I have known him since he was 6 or 7 years old, and seeing him wanting to go to this school is really exciting and rewarding for me.

What is something you expected to have happen when you became a pastor that didn’t happen, or something that happened that you weren’t expecting to have happen?

Jeremy: When I first became a senior pastor, I expected the church to grow like crazy. I thought it was just going to grow automatically and wasn’t going to be as difficult.

Something I didn’t expect was the amount of hurt people there, and dealing with so many issues. I didn’t know how complex the nature of relationships is, as well as individual personalities.

Leave a Reply

