Week 14

13 Aug

Monday, August 6, 2012 (2 hours)

This week, we have big upcoming presentations, where each ministry team must present their vision/goals/plan for the year. Today, I worked on creating the calendar for the year. It is neat to see how God provides the vision and encouragement that I need. I am so grateful for having learned so much from my previous church, and am using a lot of skills I aquired while I was there. This reminds me to always be training and raising up new leaders, so that they can also go and make a difference other places, and be equipped to the best of their ability for the future.

Wednesday, August 8 (7 hours)

Today, we had our presentations. Many of the staff presented yesterday, but I could not go because I had to work. I was also the last person who arrived to the presentations today, since I had to work early in the morning. This made me a little flustered, as I hate being late or being the last person. However, I knew God would have mercy on me and help me. When it came time for me present the vision and plan for this year’s youth group, I gave a lot of detail and  presented a simple, outlined calendar that included  what sermons series we would be going through, as well as the different events we would be having throughout the year. I explained how on Sundays, our goal is to use the same scriptures the senior pastor is preaching from, so that way, even though the youth are not with the main congregation, they will still be following along on the same track. I also presented a list of the various goals we will be working toward, both long-term and short-term. After I presented, the other pastors were VERY impressed and they were glad to have me on the team. They gave me many compliments and this definitely encouraged me. It was interesting to see the other pastors’ presentations because many of them were not as specific/organized. However, it made me realize how different people function and work in different ways, and what may work for me may not work for them. It was very interesting to see how each person presented their vision differently, and reminded me of the many different types of personalities and communication styles that people have.

After we had our presentations, the youth pastor and I got ready for youth service. Tonight, we had an extremely small group. Many people were gone on vacation, at camps, etc. We only had four girls come, so the youth pastor and I decided that I would just take them out to ice cream and we would do a devotional. The youth pastor stayed back and worked on things he needed to do. It was interesting to note that when it was just us four girls, the group became much more relaxed and open. It is crazy how different settings and communication can change when the opposite sex is involved/not involved. We had a very good time tonight and I got to know some of the girls on a deeper level.

Sunday, August 11, 2012 (4 hours)

Today, I arrived at the church and got ready for service. Then, the youth stayed in service like always for worship and then we went to the youth room. Again, we had a small group, so the youth pastor had us get into a circle when he was talking. I was reminded how the position of chairs, space of the room, etc. can change the communication atmosphere. Because we were in a circle, we had a discussion, rather than just the pastor preaching to us. It was really neat. Then we split into even smaller groups and I thought this was good because it allowed us to be more intimate. After service, we had a quick leaders meeting just to go over some upcoming things, such as the youth pastor will be gone for a few weeks. Then, after our meeting, I began to go over the newly created calendar with one of our girl leaders. I started talking to her and asked her how she was doing financially (she had been struggling for a while). She said she was getting there, and getting back on her feet. When I asked her if she had any food, she smiled and said yeah, but I could tell she was lying. I then kept questioning her and she said how she was a horrible liar. Our church has a food bank, so I called the senior pastor to ask him if we could get her food. He told me that we never have to ask and I need to make sure she always has food. It was interesting to me that even though our church has this great resource for food, she still did not want to admit her situation and ask for help. I thought about how some people are very open and will share their needs, while others are way more closed off and don’t like to admit they need help. We got her a lot of food, and made sure she was taken care of, and she was very happy.

Leave a Reply

